The Start Of Something Great

P1020339[2]
My apartment

P1030038[1]It has been an awesome week! Last Tuesday was the start of an amazing week. We woke up and did some teaching to about 4 different investigators for a couple of hours, and made so good progress. Afterwards Elder Martin found a ton of old Book of Mormons up in the library, about 50 of them, that were not being used anymore. We brainstormed some ideas, and decided to go preaching with them! We went to the mall, and started “soap-boxing.” As soon as we got there, Elder Lodwick walked up to this HUGE dude, and said: “This is the full message of the gospel of Jesus Christ, it will benefit your life, would you like to learn?” and the dude said yes, he even said he would go to church, he was on the phone and didn’t even hang up he was so shocked! We preached at the mall for a while, and then went to a huge outdoor market for some more preaching. It was night, so we all went through the market inviting people. Elder Lodwick had a super bright light he would shine to get people’s attention. I got a ton of phone numbers. We also taught 2 of our investigators about the the plan of salvation. One of our good investigators, Dow, has been dropped. She no longer wanted to learn due to peer pressure from her family. Maybe some day she will want to learn again. We then went over to the Walking Street market for some more soap-boxing, and had a good time. Earlier that day we saw a guy at the mall wearing a Predator Helmet on a motorcycle, and that night we saw him again at the market. He was selling movie props like iron Man helmets and Guardians of The Galaxy stuff. It was super cool! He had a Captain America shield that Elder Lodwick cracked by being rough with it. The dude said it was no big deal, but I could tell he was kinda sad (it was hand made). Later I went up to him and asked how mP1030161[1]uch it was, he said 600 Baht. I said I would buy it. He protested and said it was no big deal, but I persisted so he sold it for 300 Baht. I then took the shield, and went preaching P1030026[2]with it on my arm! Later the guy found me and came up to me. He said “Thank you” and was very grateful for what I did. The next day we loaded up with the Peterson’s and went and taught a ton of less active members. The sun was out, so I was super wrapped up to avoid sunburn! It was rice harvesting season so a ton of fields were on fire to kill weeds, so we all smelled like smoke riding in the back P1030060[1]of the pickup truck. That night I gave a blessing to a Buddhist man who was really sick. He seemed so happy afterwards, and even cracked a smile! I also ate an entire Hawaiian pizza. The next day was a normal slow day of inviting and lessons. That night, we went and tore up this huge outdoor market. We invited practically everyone to repentance. We also found the legendary blue Fanta. It tasted amazing. That night on my bike I spanked an elephant on the way home. The next day we did more lessons, and more inviting. We went to the local university where we watched some Muay Thai fighters train. I almost crashed. I got clipped by a moped going about 30 mph towards me, but I avoided it and stayed up on my bike. I have no Idea why that person almost hit me. We then went to the walking street, and almost got wrecked again by a car running a red-light at about 60 mph. I wanted to start walking at that point. There was no market that night, but there were a lot of people running around the lake. We just invited people, and sometimes ran with them while we invited. The next day we went to the mall and taught Bop, but we were told to leave because we were “disrupting the customers” Whatever! We still go into the mall. We fear no man! We then biked up to “Big C” and bought a scale, along with some new razors. Almost got killed on the road by a truck, again. We then taught a friend of our investigator Ahh, Sister Doo. We had amazing lesson about the restoration. She used to be Catholic. She accepted a baptismal date. That night we learned that the big guy we met on the phone at the mall was named “King”. He said his mom was taught by missionaries when he was a kid, and he was ready to join our church! We were supposed to meet that guy! The next day was Sunday, and it was awesome! We had 62 attending church, with 18 investigators! That is a record never before achieved! We also had a family show up, who we just gave an invitational card to, we didn’t even get their numbers or anything. We had awesome lessons with the investigators and we now have 7 baptismal daters.

               P1030042[1]P1030052[1]

That afternoon we taught Brother Chode all of the lessons, because he would be baptized that night. It took 2 hours. We then went to visit members to kill time before the baptism. We got to the church at 6, and were both were able to dress in white. Chode tried to change in the chapel,so we had to stop him haha! We then had sister Sun and Elder Martin speak. and then we went to the font. Chode had a super long name! “Chodesongpan Sugsiri Mahapaysan” I got the name right the first time, and the prayer, and I baptize him! Elder Martin called it “ The best baptism dunk he has ever seen” Afterwords Chode went swimming in the pool cause he said he had “Alot of sin to clean” and then came out of the water and yelled “AMEN!”. When we were changing I could hear him in the other room yelling “Amen!”. He was so happy!

P1030121[1]P1030126[2]

The next day we packed up with the Peterson’s and went to the elephant village! I got to take photos with, pet, and play with elephants all day. They are amazing creatures. We went with a return missionary named “Bartley” he is a professional photographer who makes movies, he filmed the whole experience and will put it on you tube. I will send the link when it gets done! I have gotten super tan from the whole experience. I got an ivory ring, and an ivory elephant necklace for my grandma “Jo” she loves elephants! We then came home, and bought a sofa. So all in all, a pretty good day. This coming week will be amazing. We have Gahn, Amm, Ahh, Bop, Doo, Dan, being baptized in the coming weeks. Our goal is 20 baptisms this transfer. This week I was listening to the “Guardian Suite” music track from the movie “The Guardian”. I looked at the soundtrack cover, and imagined the two Coast-Guardsmen replaced with missionaries. It made me think that we are Guardians, and it is our duty to give all we have to help and save these people. It requires sacrifice from home, family, friends, and all the comforts of your life. But it is all worth the effort. The_Guardian_OST


Love, Elder Ridings

Leave a Reply

